You are here

A piece of news

4 Catalan research units receive ‘María de Maeztu’ distinction

Plus, the Institute for Bioengineering of Catalonia has received the ‘Severo Ochoa’ distinction

AddToAny buttons: 

For the first time, the ‘Centros de Excelencia’ program has included the ‘María de Maeztu’ category, recognizing excellence on organizational levels smaller than research centers, mainly at universities. This category is in addition to the "Severo Ochoa" distinction for research centers, which is included in the same call, which grants a total of €20 millions.

The Secretary of State for R&D&i has granted 8 accreditations in total: 2 ‘Severo Ochoa’ and 6 ‘María de Maeztu’. The former went to the Institute for Bioengineering of Catalonia (IBEC) and the Instituto de Física Corpuscular, a joint center of the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC) and the University of Valencia.

On the other hand, the research units selected in the ‘María de Maeztu’ category were: the Institute of Cosmos Sciences at the University of Barcelona, the Department of Experimental and Health Sciences at Pompeu Fabra University, the CSIC Structural Biology Department, the Consorci Centre de Recerca Matemàtica Barcelona Graduate School of Mathematics, the Autonomous University of Madrid  Condensed Matter Physics Center and the Department of Economics at Carlos III University in Madrid.

These units will each receive €500,000 in funding per year for four years. They are stable research structures but not separate legal entities that may be made up of all or part of the research personnel at a center, university department or research institute.

The newest ‘Severo Ochoa’ distinctions join the eighteen centers of excellence that have received this distinction in previous years, including the Center for Genomic Regulation and Barcelona GSE, of the UPF Group.

The UPF Department of Experimental and Health Sciences is located at the PRBB. - Photo: ©UPF

Related content: