Skip to main content

By Biocat

Banco Sabadell announced the 2012 Award for Biomedical Research in recognition of excellence of young scientists in Spain in the field of biomedicine and health sciences with outstanding innovation capabilities. The prize is worth €50,000 and a sculpture from Barcelonan artist, Sergi Aguilar.

Candidates must be nominated by people related to universities, hospitals and research centers.

In the six previous years, the following researchers have received it:

  • 2011: Oscar Fernandez-Capetillo, group leader of Genomic Instability Group of the Spanish National Cancer Research Centre (CNIO)
  • 2010: Eduard Batlle, he is a research professor at the Catalan Institution for Research and Advanced Studies (ICREA) and Coordinator of the IRB Oncology and IP Programme (Institue for Reseach in Biomedicine-IRB Barcelona)
  • 2009: Joan Seoane, research professor of the ICREA and director of Translational Research Institute of Oncology Vall d'Hebron (VHIO)
  • 2008: Oscar Marín, PhD in Biology from the Complutense University of Madrid
  • 2007: Benedicto Crespo-Facorro, associate professor of Psychiatry at the Marqués de Valdecilla University Hospital in Santander
  • 2006: Manuel Serrano, PhD in biochemistry and molecular biology from the Madrid Autonomous University

For further information:

Sign up for our newsletters

Stay up-to-date on the latest news, events and trends in the BioRegion.