Skip to main content

The Lilly Foundation has opened the call for submissions for the Ninth Biomedicine Research Awards, with categories for preclinical and clinical research works, which carry prizes of €200,000 and €150,000 respectively. The cut-off date for submitting entries will be 10 February 2010.

The awards, which have become a reference in their field, “recognize scientific careers of excellence among researchers who work in Spanish institutions and centres and therefore contribute to their continuity and progress,” said Dr José Antonio Gutíerrez, the Foundation’s director. Each year around a hundred of Spain’s leading biomedical researchers submit works to the competition.

Concerning this new call for submissions, Dr Gutiérrez observed that “greater interaction between the public and private sectors” was needed to deliver on the development of know-how as established under the VI National Plan for Scientific Research, Development and Technological Innovation for 2008-2011.

The jury comprises scientists from the Lilly Foundation’s Advisory Board, currently chaired by Mariano Barbacid, the director of the National Centre for Oncological Research (CNIO). He is joined this year by the prize winners of the past two competitions: Manel Esteller, director of the Cancer Epigenetics and Biology Programme at the Bellvitge Institute for Biomedical Research  (IDIBELL); Andrés Esteban de la Torre, head of Intensive Care at the Getafe University Hospital; Lina Badimón, director of the  Cardiovascular Research Centre (CIC) at Sant Pau Hospital in Barcelona; and Antonio Pellicer, university professor and head of Obstetrics and Gynaecology at the Dr. Peset University Hospital in Valencia.

For further information:
Lilly Foundation • Tel. +34 91 781 50 70 •


Sign up for our newsletters

Stay up-to-date on the latest news, events and trends in the BioRegion.